It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Big Idea: Evolution, Genes, and the Environment: Guide
This guide contains detailed information about all resources, i.e. Databases, Books, Streaming Videos and other electronic resources about how epigenetic processes and molecular plasticity contributes to evolution via a dialogue between genes and the envi
Access Provider: BioOne Description: BioOne Complete includes titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Note: Only open access/freely available articles are accessible. Format: Articles, Open Access
Access Provider: Elsevier Description: Collection of scholarly journals with strong coverage for the life and physical sciences, medicine, and technical fields, with additional content in the social sciences and humanities. Catalogue Link:OneSearch. Format: Abstracts, Articles, E-Books, Journals
Provides a broad snapshot of recent findings showing how the environment and genes influence behavior The great debate of nature versus nurture rages on -- but our understanding of the genetic basis of many behaviors has expanded over the last decade, and there is now very good evidence showing that seemingly complex behaviours can have relatively simple genetic underpinnings, but also that most behaviours have very complicated genetic and environmental architecture.
The book aims to introduce the reader to the emerging field of Evolutionary Systems Biology, which approaches classical systems biology questions within an evolutionary framework. An evolutionary approach might allow understanding the significance of observed diversity, uncover "evolutionary design principles” and extend predictions made in model organisms to others. In addition, evolutionary systems biology can generate new insights into the adaptive landscape by combining molecular systems biology models and evolutionary simulations. This insight can enable the development of more detailed mechanistic evolutionary hypotheses.
In order to function and survive, plants produce a wide array of chemical compounds not found in other organisms. Photosynthesis requires a large array of pigments, enzymes, and other compounds to function, and these chemicals have multiple practical uses in the human world as well, with applications to agriculture, forestry, and horticulture. This book presents an important collection of research and studies on the physiology of photosynthesis.
The symposium covered a broad range of topics including human germline development, epigenetics, organogenesis and evolution. This Meeting Review provides a summary of this timely and exciting symposium, which has convinced us that we are moving into the era of science targeted on humans.
The availability of new genetic technologies has positioned the field of biological control as a test bed for theories in evolutionary biology and for understanding practical aspects of the release of genetically manipulated material. Purposeful introductions of pathogens, parasites, predators and herbivores, when considered as replicated semi-natural field experiments, show the unpredictable nature of biological colonization.
RALF SOMMER explains that Pristionchus pacificus develops alternative mouth forms depending on their environment, either feeding on bacteria or on other roundworms. By manipulating the worms’ genome, the researchers identified one gene which, if deactivated, results in animals that no longer develop the predatory mouth form.
Six different stories tell us why genes alone cannot predict our fate. With the help of epigenetics, scientists explain how DNA profiles change in the course of a lifetime. Environmental factors, diet and stress all influence human cell factories decisively. Heart and brain rejuvenation experiments, organ reconstruction and delaying of the ageing process no longer belong to the world of science fiction - they are already being tested in modern molecular biology.
While there is no single gene for language or any other complex human system, specific aspects of the human genome and our biology create the perfect biological environment for the development of language. Explore the important relationship between the brain's Broca's and Wernicke's areas and the significance of the gene FOXP2. Could language be "a new machine built out of old parts"?