Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Electronic Resources (articles, databases, ebooks, ejournals, streaming videos) Guide

Provides guidelines on how to access articles, databases, e-journals, e-books, and streaming videos.

Searching for Streaming Content in OneSearch

  • OneSearch is the QC Libraries' Catalogue
  • You may search for streaming videos, ebooks, print books, ejournals, databases, articles, etc in OneSearch
  • For Streaming Media, search by title. For example,  The Pruitt-Igoe myth
  • From there on the left-hand "Filter my results" section select the following:
    • Limit to Full-Text Online
    • Resource Type - Videos
  • This will retrieve all electronic streaming videos with the words  The Pruitt-Igoe myth in the title
  • The below screenshot is what you will see after you conduct a search

  • Then select the "Available Online" link which will take you to the Full record as seen below:

  • Then under View Online - Try a Link Below! - Select from one of the options
  • That will take you to our Proxy page where you will need to sign in with your CUNYCredentials - firstname.lastnameNN@login.cuny.edu

  • Once you sign-in, you will be taken to the platform. For this example:

Available Subscription Dates

  • Please note that the QC Libraries subscribe to many Streaming Videos content/platforms including Swank and Kanopy.
  • For every streaming video, within the View Online - Try a link below! area, you will see the available dates
  • Those dates represent the period the content is available
  • Should the Library be able to extend the subscription then the dates will be adjusted. If not then the content will no longer be accessible in the catalogue, OneSearch or directly on the platforms.

Accessing Streaming Videos via the A-Z Database List

The QC Libraries A-Z Database List provides a comprehensive list of all of our databases including all of our Streaming Videos Platforms.

  • Once on the A-Z Database List, toggle to Database Type - Streaming Videos
  • From there all of the libraries' Streaming Videos platforms/databases will be retrieved
  • You may select the database of your choice
  • You will be required to provide your CUNY Credentials in order to access

Electronic Resources Status Dashboard

 

Remote Access

All Queens College students, staff, and faculty can access the librarys’ electronic resources off-campus. To use databases while off-campus you must verify affiliation with Queens College when prompted.

Please note that the library has updated its catalogue and as such barcodes are no longer supported. However, if you are unable to login as suggested below, please complete the form and include your barcode number. We will work to resolve the issue.

In order to access library databases, resources, and your account, you may log in with your CUNY Login Credentials. Your CUNY Login credentials follow the pattern: Firstname.LastnameNN@login.cuny.edu, where “NN” is the last 2+ digits of your CUNY EMPLID. If you are a guest user, your CUNY Login account username will be the one you set in the CUNY Portal.

When you select a resource from the A-Z Database Page or One Search, you will first see the following page:

Please select Student/Faculty and Staff. From there you will see this page which will prompt you to login with your CUNY Credentials:

If you forgot your CUNY Login credentials and need to reset either your username or password, please visit the CUNY Login Account Service page.

For more information about your CUNY Login Credentials, please review the FAQ.

If you are unable to use your CUNY Credentials and/or have any questions, please contact us via one of the listed options:

Suggest-a-Title Form

How Streaming Audio and Video Works

Useful Links