Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Article and Database Searching

Introduction

Much of your research will probably involve using the Libraries' databases. They are online, searchable, and contain much of the information you will need.

The Queens College Libraries provide approximately 275 databases. You can use the drop-down menu at the top to limit the list to databases in a particular subject.

What is a Database?

A database is an organized, online collection of information. The most common type of database includes primarily articles, so that will be the focus here.

In many databases, the articles are organized by subject; in such cases, you will see clickable subject terms that you can use to find more on that topic. Many databases also make it possible to search by other characteristics of an article. You may be able to look for articles that have been published after a certain date, peer-reviewed articles, or articles of a particular type.

Although databases allow you to search for information online, they are different from search engines because they include the information that you will find, not just the search box. Because of this, you will have different search results from one database to another, and most of them wouldn't be available from the open Web.

Some databases provide information only in certain, specific fields. For example, you would search BioOne for biology articles and MLA International Bibliography for literary criticism. Other databases, like JSTOR or Academic Search Complete, include information on a variety of subjects.

Besides journal, magazine and newspaper articles, databases can also consist of encyclopedia articles, images from art collections, digitized historical documents, library catalogs, statistical information, or almost anything.

Remote Access

All Queens College students, staff, and faculty can access the librarys’ electronic resources off-campus. To use databases while off-campus you must verify affiliation with Queens College when prompted.

Please note that the library has updated its catalogue and as such barcodes are no longer supported. However, if you are unable to login as suggested below, please complete the form and include your barcode number. We will work to resolve the issue.

In order to access library databases, resources, and your account, you may log in with your CUNY Login Credentials. Your CUNY Login credentials follow the pattern: Firstname.LastnameNN@login.cuny.edu, where “NN” is the last 2+ digits of your CUNY EMPLID. If you are a guest user, your CUNY Login account username will be the one you set in the CUNY Portal.

When you select a resource from the A-Z Database Page or One Search, you will first see the following page:

Please select Student/Faculty and Staff. From there you will see this page which will prompt you to login with your CUNY Credentials:

If you forgot your CUNY Login credentials and need to reset either your username or password, please visit the CUNY Login Account Service page.

For more information about your CUNY Login Credentials, please review the FAQ.

If you are unable to use your CUNY Credentials and/or have any questions, please contact us via one of the listed options: