Research Guides: Big Idea: Understanding the Limits of Brain Plasticity: Guide

Subash Gandhi

Email Me

Contact:

Benjamin S. Rosenthal Library
Queens College | 65-30 Kissena Boulevard | Queens, NY 11367-1597

718-997-3674

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Engineering, Environmental Studies & Sciences, Geology, Health & Medicine, Neuroscience, Physics, Psychiatry, Psychology

More Resources!

I included some relevant links here.

CBPR Lectures (YouTube)
A series of introductory lectures from the Interdisciplinary Research and Science Leaders.
CBPR Toolkit
From the Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations. It is intended as a handbook for community health centers (CHCs) and researchers interested in collaborative research activities.
Community Participation in Health Impact Assessments: A National Evaluation - January 2016
A report on CBPR and similar methodologies in the health field in the United States, from the Kellogg Foundation, which is active in this area. (NOTE: an email address is required to download the report.)
Make the Road New York
Make the Road NY is a partner in the Safe and Just Cleaners project.They are a grassroots organization for immigrant rights and workers' rights, among others.
NIH Community Based Participatory Research Program
Support for CBPR from the National Institute of Health.
Sonoma State University Center for Community Engagement: Community Engaged Scholarship
Encourages research that is engaged with the local community. This page includes extensive information on relevant initiatives and projects and a blog which provides up-to-date information on current projects and presentations.

The Big Idea: Understanding the Limits of Brain Plasticity

Maral Tajerian is studying the epigenetic effects of chronic pain on the brain. Chronic pain profoundly affects memories and other aspects of the brain.

You can learn more about chronic pain at the following links:

International Association for the Study of Pain
The International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP) works to support research, education, clinical treatment, and better patient outcomes for all pain conditions with the goal of improving pain relief worldwide.
Pain Research Forum
The IASP Pain Research Forum (PRF) is an interactive web community dedicated to finding new treatments for pain conditions.

CUNY DATABASES

MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
Access Provider: EBSCO
Description: MEDLINE Complete is the leading full-text database of biomedical and health journals.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Format: Articles, Journals
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Access Provider: National Library of Medicine
Description: PubMed comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Format: Abstracts, Articles, E-Books
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access Provider: Elsevier
Description: Collection of scholarly journals with strong coverage for the life and physical sciences, medicine, and technical fields, with additional content in the social sciences and humanities.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Format: Abstracts, Articles, E-Books, Journals
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Access Provider: EBSCO
Description: This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Format: Articles, Journals
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Access Provider: EBSCO
Description: Delve into the science of psychology and behavior with APA PsycArticles, the database of full-text Peer-Reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Format: Articles, Journals
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Access Provider: EBSCO
Description: Multidisciplinary database for scholarly journals, magazines, and news sources; a good starting point for research in all areas of study.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Format: Articles, Journals
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
Access Provider: ProQuest, Part of Clarivate
Description: Cross-search all ProQuest databases for content from all major subject areas.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Format: Articles, E-Books, Journals, Newspapers, Primary Sources

BOOKS

Hormones and brain plasticity by Luis Miguel Garcia-Segura.
ISBN: 9780199716821
Publication Date: 2009
Proposing that hormones modulate metaplasticity in the brain, the author covers a wide variety of hormones, brain regions, and neuroplastic events, and also provides a new theoretical background with which to interpret the interaction of hormones and brain remodeling throughout the entire life of the organism.
Changing brains : applying brain plasticity to advance and recover human ability. by Merzenich, MiNahum, I.M., Mor.; Van Vleet, Thomas M.
ISBN: 9780444633347
Publication Date: 2013
Research focuses on the applying brain plasticity to advance and recover human ability. The volume starts off discussing brain plasticity in the young, adults and old brains with follow on discussions regarding the type of neuroscience-based training that is on offer in impaired child populations as well as discussing the therapeutics involved in adults. Applying brain Plasticity and advances and recover human ability.

Brain plasticity : development and aging.
This book is a collection of 22 papers written by more than 70 authors from leading laboratories in neuroscience, mostly European. The purpose is to cover the rapidly expanding field of brain plasticity manifested during development and aging. According to the editors, the book is intended for basic neurobiologists and researchers and practitioners interested in neurodegenerative diseases....
Brain plasticity.
This volume reviews the latest experimental and clinical research on brain plasticity. Featuring contributions from more than eighty international experts, the book examines the brain's capacity for functional recovery after various types of injury, including traumatic or ischemic brain injury and demyelinating diseases such as multiple sclerosis.

BOOK CHAPTERS

LEADING SCHOLARLY ARTICLES

Kostić, Marina. “‘Brain Plasticity’ and Stress.” Acta Medica Medianae, vol. 59, no. 2, June 2020, pp. 72–80. EBSCOhost, doi:10.5633/amm.2020.0210.
Gandolla, Marta, et al. “Brain Plasticity Mechanisms Underlying Motor Control Reorganization: Pilot Longitudinal Study on Post-Stroke Subjects.” Brain Sciences (2076-3425), vol. 11, no. 3, Mar. 2021, p. 329. EBSCOhost, doi:10.3390/brainsci11030329.
Gomes-Osman, Joyce, et al. “The Effects of Exercise on Cognitive Function and Brain Plasticity - a Feasibility Trial.” Restorative Neurology & Neuroscience, vol. 35, no. 5, Sept. 2017, pp. 547–556. EBSCOhost, doi:10.3233/RNN-170758.
Flondell, Magnus, et al. “Carpal Tunnel Syndrome Treated with Guided Brain Plasticity: A Randomised, Controlled Study.” Journal of Plastic Surgery & Hand Surgery, vol. 51, no. 3, June 2017, pp. 159–164. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1080/2000656X.2016.1205503.
Barban, Francesco, et al. “A Pilot Study on Brain Plasticity of Functional Connectivity Modulated by Cognitive Training in Mild Alzheimer’s Disease and Mild Cognitive Impairment.” Brain Sciences (2076-3425), vol. 7, no. 5, May 2017, p. 50. EBSCOhost, doi:10.3390/brainsci7050050.

ARTICLES FROM GOOGLE SCHOLAR

What is brain plasticity and why is it so important?
By: Duncan Banks

STREAMING VIDEOS

Super Brain Summit. A practical guide to your brain's plasticity. by Bradley University. Center For Collaborative Brain Research, production company.
Publication Date: 2017
There's been a revolution in brain science that provides us with a new understanding of the basis of origin of our unique individual person-hoods. That science also helps us understand 'what goes wrong' in an accounting for developmental or acquired neurological impairments, loss, and 'disease.' We'll review this science on the path to considering some aspects of its practical importance for you and for human societies. Fun Facts: Plasticity is bi-directional. We can train our brain to improve or degrade our abilities. Remember what wires together fires together, so we want to change our wiring for accuracy and fidelity; power and strength and complexity and richness.

ORGANIZATIONS, ASSOCIATIONS AND SOCIETIES INVOLVED WITH BRAIN PLASTICITY

Cognition and Brain Plasticity Unit
Cognition and Brain Plasticity is an interdisciplinary Unit devoted to studying the nervous system’s structural and functional reorganization capacity, and its role in development, neurological injuries, learning, neurorehabilitation and/or interventional processes.
more...less...
C/ Feixa Llarga, s/n - Pavelló de Govern - Edifici Modular
08907 L'Hospitalet de Llobregat Barcelona (Spain)

93 402 04 89
The American Brain Foundation
The American Brain Foundation promotes and invests in research across the whole spectrum of brain disease. We believe that when we cure one of these diseases, we will cure many.
American Brain Coalition
The American Brain Coalition is a nonprofit organization comprised of the United States’ leading professional neurological, psychological, and psychiatric associations and patient organizations. Together, we seek to advance the understanding of the functions of the brain, and to reduce the burden of brain disorders through public education and advocacy.
American Neurological Association (ANA)
ANA is the champion of neurological research and the ally of all physicians and scientists who strive to make a difference through careers that combine discovery, education, and clinical care.