Use online databases or periodical indexes to select journal articles you want to read. A journal article is written by a scholar or an expert, and provides a detailed analysis of a topic. Sometimes, searching one database is not enough. Search multiple databases to obtain the most comprehensive information.
You can find bibliographic citations to books and journal articles, as well as full text of some documents.The databases listed below are available for Queens College faculty and students through the library subscriptions and could be found on the QC Libraries homepage.
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Provides full-text, Peer-Reviewed sociology journals covering many studies including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion, and social work.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database of scholarly journals, magazines, and news sources. It is a good starting point for research in all areas of study.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
An index to articles in journals taken by the Library and to films held at the Royal Anthropological Institute. The collection has nearly 800 journals, published in more than 40 languages, are indexed on a continuing basis. Records cover 1957 to the present.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) is internationally recognized in the field of cultural anthropology to promote understanding of cultural diversity and commonality in the past and present.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences (1973-current). The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
MLA International Bibliography Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals and series, as well as book publishers.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Oxford English Dictionary includes comprehensive definitions, quotations documenting historical uses of words, and etymological notes.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
