Deaf Culture by
A contemporary and vibrant Deaf culture is found within Deaf communities, including Deaf Persons of Color and those who are DeafDisabled and DeafBlind. Taking a more people-centered view, the second edition of Deaf Culture: Exploring Deaf Communities in the United States critically examines how Deaf culture fits into education, psychology, cultural studies, technology, and the arts. With the acknowledgment of signed languages all over the world as bona fide languages, the perception of Deaf people has evolved into the recognition and acceptance of a vibrant Deaf culture centered around the use of signed languages and the communities of Deaf peoples. Written by Deaf and hearing authors with extensive teaching experience and immersion in Deaf cultures and signed languages, Deaf Culture fills a niche as an introductory textbook that is more inclusive, accessible, and straightforward for those beginning their studies of the Deaf-World. New to the Second Edition A new co-author, Topher González Ávila, MA Two new chapters! Chapter 7 "Deaf Communities Within the Deaf Community" highlights the complex variations within this community Chapter 10 "Deaf People and the Legal System: Education, Employment, and Criminal Justice" underscores linguistic and access rights The remaining chapters have been significantly updated to reflect current trends and new information, such as: Advances in technology created by Deaf people that influence and enhance their lives within various national and international societies Greater emphasis on different perspectives within Deaf culture Information about legal issues and recent political action by Deaf people New information on how Deaf people are making breakthroughs in the entertainment industry Addition of new vignettes, examples, pictures, and perspectives to enhance content interest for readers and facilitate instructor teaching Introduction of theories explained in a practical and reader-friendly manner to ensure understanding An updated introduction to potential opportunities for professional and informal involvement in ASL/Deaf culture with children, youth, and adults Key Features Strong focus on including different communities within Deaf cultures Thought-provoking questions, illustrative vignettes, and examples Theories introduced and explained in a practical and reader-friendly manner
Foundations for Multilingualism in Education by
Foundations for Multilingualism in Education: from Principles to Practice equips pre-service and in-service educators with the knowledge and skills they need to make informed language and literacy education decisions in multilingual schools. It also shows multiple pathways for advocacy through classroom and school practices and policy-making, and sets an agenda for research from a multilingual perspective. This foundational text takes a comprehensive, pluralistic approach to theory and research on multilingualism in education. De Jong goes beyond traditional discussions about "the best bilingual or multilingual model", and introduces four core principles that are applicable across a wide range of multilingual contexts: 1) Striving for Educational Equity, 2) Affirming Identities, 3) Promoting Additive Bi/Multilingualism, and 4) Structuring for Integration. Readers learn to apply these principles to practice, policy-making, and research in bilingual, multilingual, and English-medium school contexts.
Languaging Myths and Realities by
Higher education institutions in Anglophone countries often rely on standardized English language proficiency exams to assess the linguistic capabilities of their multilingual international students. However, there is often a mismatch between these scores and the initial experiences of international students in both academic and social contexts. Drawing on a digital ethnography of Chinese international students' first semester languaging practices, this book examines their challenges, needs and successes on their initial languaging journeys in higher education. It analyzes how they use their rich multilingual and multi-modal communicative repertories to facilitate languaging across contexts, in order to suggest how university support systems might better serve the needs of multilingual international students.
Linguistic Justice by
Bringing together theory, research, and practice to dismantle Anti-Black Linguistic Racism and white linguistic supremacy, this book provides ethnographic snapshots of how Black students navigate and negotiate their linguistic and racial identities across multiple contexts. By highlighting the counterstories of Black students, Baker-Bell demonstrates how traditional approaches to language education do not account for the emotional harm, internalized linguistic racism, or consequences these approaches have on Black students' sense of self and identity. This book presents Anti-Black Linguistic Racism as a framework that explicitly names and richly captures the linguistic violence, persecution, dehumanization, and marginalization Black Language-speakers endure when using their language in schools and in everyday life. To move toward Black linguistic liberation, Baker-Bell introduces a new way forward through Antiracist Black Language Pedagogy, a pedagogical approach that intentionally and unapologetically centers the linguistic, cultural, racial, intellectual, and self-confidence needs of Black students. This volume captures what Antiracist Black Language Pedagogy looks like in classrooms while simultaneously illustrating how theory, research, and practice can operate in tandem in pursuit of linguistic and racial justice.　 A crucial resource for educators, researchers, professors, and graduate students in language and literacy education, writing studies, sociology of education, sociolinguistics, and critical pedagogy, this book features a range of multimodal examples and practices through instructional maps, charts, artwork, and stories that reflect the urgent need for antiracist language pedagogies in our current social and political climate.　
No study without struggle: confronting settler colonialism in higher education by
An enlightening examination of the intertwined roles of collective struggle and study in higher education and what this relationship can teach us about settler colonialism.
Sign Language in Action by
This book defines the notion of applied sign linguistics by drawing on data from projects that have explored sign language in action in various domains. The book gives professionals working with sign languages, signed language teachers and students, research students and their supervisors, authoritative access to current ideas and practice.
The purpose of the research guide is to introduce you to the process of research and familiarize you with a variety of available sources. These sources are particularly selected for their relevance to the study of linguistics.
But knowing where to look for information is only part of the research process. If you need help formulating search terms, refining your research topic, or locating materials, please reach out using the chat widget in the left-hand menu. Or, you can email me directly at lwalker@qc.cuny.edu.
All Queens College students, staff, and faculty can access the librarys’ electronic resources off-campus. To use databases while off-campus you must verify affiliation with Queens College when prompted.
Please note that the library has updated its catalogue and as such barcodes are no longer supported. However, if you are unable to login as suggested below, please complete the form and include your barcode number. We will work to resolve the issue.
In order to access library databases, resources, and your account, you may log in with your CUNY Login Credentials. Your CUNY Login credentials follow the pattern: Firstname.LastnameNN@login.cuny.edu, where “NN” is the last 2+ digits of your CUNY EMPLID. If you are a guest user, your CUNY Login account username will be the one you set in the CUNY Portal.
When you select a resource from the A-Z Database Page or One Search, you will first see the following page:
Please select Student/Faculty and Staff. From there you will see this page which will prompt you to login with your CUNY Credentials:
If you forgot your CUNY Login credentials and need to reset either your username or password, please visit the CUNY Login Account Service page.
For more information about your CUNY Login Credentials, please review the FAQ.
If you are unable to use your CUNY Credentials and/or have any questions, please contact us via one of the listed options:
First, gather background information of your topic in general or specialized reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries or handbooks. A reference book can be used to start a research project by helping the researcher to find short authoritative descriptions or summaries of important topics.These reference sources provide useful overviews of a topic and may include in their bibliographies resources you can further use in your paper.
Atlas of the World's Languages by 
The Cambridge Handbook of Linguistic Anthropology by 
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics by 
Handbook of Descriptive Linguistic Fieldwork by 
The Handbook of Historical Sociolinguistics by 
The Handbook of Linguistics by 
The Linguistics Student's Handbook by The best way to stay up-to-date on the latest developments in the field of Linguistics is to consult the leading journals in the field. Staying current helps you understand the scholarly conversation and prepares you to engage meaningfully in scholarly conversation yourself. The best place to find the titles of respected journals in the field of Linguistics is by paying attention to the source of the scholarly readings your professor assigns. If you see a journal title appear several times on the syllabus, you'll know it's a good one to pay attention to! You can search for specific journals and access library subscriptions using the Find E-Journals tool on the library website.
The list below includes some of the major sources in the field, but it's not a complete list! Be sure to ask your professor for recommendations as well.
