Skip to main content
- ACLS Humanities E-Books
Digital collection of approximately 4,000 electronic books (e-books), essays, and primary sources in the humanities; includes both in-print and out-of-print books, hand selected by scholars for their continuing importance for research and teaching.
- Alexander Street Press
- Cross-search streaming video from: Counseling and Therapy in Video; Volumes I & II, Dance in Video; Ethnographic Video Online, Volumes 1 & II; Theatre in Video; Opera in Video; and VAST: Academic Video Online. Users can create & share playlists and video clips, and embed content onto Blackboard.
- Art Abstracts (EBSCO)
Coverage of over 400 leading art publications; includes art history and criticism, architecture, archeology, graphic and decorative arts, design, folk art, painting, photography, sculpture, museum studies, media, and more. Complete list of indexed titles available here.
- Art Full Text (EBSCO)
Comprehensive interdisciplinary coverage of art, art history, architecture, and more, from American and international publications; includes images (black-and-white only), and select full-text from 1997, with citations from 1984 and abstracts from 1993. For earlier coverage, see: Art Index Retrospective. Complete list of indexed titles available here.
- Art Index Retrospective (EBSCO)
In-depth citations of print publications for art and architectural history, the visual arts, and media; includes images (black-and-white only), interviews, reviews, bibliographies, and exhibition listings. For contemporary coverage, see: Art Full Text. Complete list of indexed titles availablehere.
- Art Museum Image Gallery (EBSCO)
- Access to over 165,000 high-quality art images from 3000 B.C. to present; a rich digital resource of art images and related multimedia gathered from the collections of distinguished museums around the world.
- ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) (ProQuest)
Premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, including photography since its invention; also includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, fashion, and more. Complete list of indexed titles available here.
- Arts & Humanities Citaton Index
Available on the Web of Science platform, this database provides citations to 1,160 arts and humanities journals; use a Cited Reference Search to find articles that refer to and/or include an illustration of a work of art or a music score. See also: Web of Science.
- Access more than 1.6 million high-resolution images from internationally renowned interdisciplinary collections and museums; includes a set of tools to view, present, and manage images. Users can create and share personal folders, and explore detailed subject guides, featured collections, and commonly used search terms.
- Berg Fashion Library
- Cross-search the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion with other Berg e-books, reference works, images, and more; includes lesson plans for integrating resources into teaching, and users can save content and searches by registering for “My Stuff.”
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and International Repertory of the Literature of Art/International Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA)
Access both the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and the International Repertory of the Literature of Art/Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) from the Getty Research Institute; provides comprehensive international bibliography of scholarly writing about the visual arts and material culture of Europe from late antiquity, and the Americas from the colonial era to the present. Complete list of indexed titles available here.
- Cinema Image Gallery (EBSCO)
- Digital collection of still images from movies, television and the entertainment industry; covers the history of movie-making and films in production.
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Social Science and Humanities
Available on the Web of Science platform, this database provides citations to published literature from significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions; users can use the “Conference” field to search for conference papers by conference title, location, date, and sponsor. See also: Web of Science.
- Fine Arts and Music Collection (Gale)
Access to international scholarly and trade journals focusing on classical and popular music; includes many titles within Wilson Art Index, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature, IIMP, and Music Index.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Digital reference collection of nearly 2,000 titles; includes encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, and specialized reference books.
- Home Improvement Collection (Gale)
Coverage of 200 home improvement focused publications; covers architectural techniques, holiday and party planning, tool and material selection, and more.
- International Bibliography of Art
- The definitive resource for scholarly literature on western art. The International Bibliography of Art is the successor to Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), which ends in 2007. It contains over 500 core journals in English, German, French, Italian and Spanish covering such topics as European art since late antiquity; American art since the colonial period; Global art since 1945; Fine art in all media; Decorative arts and antiques; Museum studies and conservation; Archaeology; Folk art and material culture; Architectural history.
- Multi-disciplinary collection of scholarly journals and electronic books (e-books) that include primary sources, images, and more. Note: Some journal coverage does not include the last 1-5 years.
Cross-search the multi-volume Dictionary of Art from Grove, along with the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art. Users can customize results with advanced search to retrieve dictionary entries, essays, art images, timelines, and thematic guides.
- Oxford Art Online
- Cross-search the multi-volume Dictionary of Art from Grove, along with the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art. Users can customize results with advanced search to retrieve dictionary entries, essays, art images, timelines, and thematic guides.
- Oxford Reference
- Provides specialized, subject-based encyclopedias; includes thesauri, language dictionaries, and timelines.
- Textile Technology Complete (EBSCO)
Coverage of the scientific and technological aspects of textile production and processing; contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, books, conference papers, theses, technical reports and trade literature.
- VAST: Academic Video Online
- Digital collection of streaming video that touch on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Each video is fully transcribed and indexed, and users can create & share playlists, video clips, and embed content onto Blackboard. See also: Alexander Street Press.